INDIANA STATE SPECIFIC LAWS
It is the responsibility of the operator to be aware of the most current laws when using a PWC/boat.
Certain bodies of water in Indiana have local restrictions as to type and size of watercraft or motor horsepower, restricted use areas, boat speed, and times for use. Check with the local authorities for these additional restrictions.
Requirements in Indiana may vary depending on the area in which you are boating.
A canoe or kayak over 16 feet in length is exempt from the "throwable" requirement.
When operating on "waters of concurrent jurisdiction" (Lake Michigan, Ohio, Wabash and Great Miami Rivers) children under the age of thirteen (13) are required to wear a PFD. Exceptions would be when the child is below deck, in an enclosed cabin or if the watercraft is docked or at anchor they would not have to wear the PFD.
Though Indiana law only requires the availability of a life jacket for every passenger, it is reasonable and prudent for the operators of any water craft to require that life jackets be worn at all times by children less than 10 years of age. This is the law in at least one neighboring state (OH).
Reckless operation of a boat, when a boat is operated carelessly in willful disregard of the rights, safety, or property of others, is a crime in Indiana. Examples of reckless operation include:
A person may not operate a water craft in a manner that unnecessarily endangers the person or property of another person.
No person shall operate any motorboat less than two hundred (200) feet off of the shoreline, unless they're operating at idle speed.
A person may not operate a water craft within one hundred and fifty (150) feet of a diver's flag.
All divers must display a white diagonal stripe on a red background divers-down flag in the area in which the diving occurs. Divers shall attempt to stay within 100 feet of the divers-down flag. Boaters should operate with caution in the area.
Every motorboat on the waters of Indiana must be registered. The expiration decals, issued by the BMV are renewed every year and must be placed to the right side of and within 3 inches of the current registration numbers. Only the current decals shall be displayed. Registration must be carried on the boat at all times. (This includes out of state boats.)
All personal injury accidents and those involving $750.00 or more in property damage must be reported. A written report must be submitted to the Department of Natural Resources within 24 hours.
Download a Indiana Boating Accident Report form.
Operating a boat while under the influence of alcohol (.08 BAC) or drugs can result in the suspension of the operators Indiana drivers license by the BMV and the operator may be given jail time. The same blood-alcohol level restriction for the operation of a car applies to the operator of PWCs.
Personal watercraft must have self-circling capability or a lanyard cut-off engine switch and this switch must be attached to the operator.
The maximum speed limit with full running lights between sunset and sunrise is 10 mph.
Personal watercraft operators are forbidden to:
A personal watercraft shall not tow an individual unless the Personal Watercraft is at least nine (9) feet long, has an observer present to monitor the person being towed, and is designed to seat three (3) people.
The seats should be for:
It is unlawful to litter in Indiana state waters. Properly dispose of litter on shore.
In Indiana, the discharge of sewage from marine toilets is prohibited on all public waters. A boat equipped with a toilet must have a holding tank to store the waste that can later be disposed of at a shore-side facility. The boat may use a treatment system as long as it is approved by the Department of Environmental Management.
Preventing the spread of Zebra Mussels?
For more information:
|Back one page||Return to the Table of Contents||Forward one page|